Getting back on the Paleo Wagon

_DSC4450
Nuts and berries topped with organic coconut oil, cinnamon and raw, local honey makes a great breakfast alternative to processed grains like cereal.

Doing Paleo takes patience and probably a few aborted attempts. Each time I go Paleo, I learn new and better ways to succeed. I have lost 10 pounds and then gained it back at least a dozen times in the last 2 years since I first learned of Paleo from the book Primal Body, Primal Mind by Nora Gegaudas.

I picked up the book at my local Barnes and Noble while sipping on Peppermint Mocha in the early months of 2012. I found it to be a delightfully informative book that immediately screamed, “buy me now!” I went home and ordered the book from Amazon and downloaded it to my Kindle (because I’m frugal like that 🙂 I quickly soaked up the new information like a sponge. Soon after, I went out and purchased the nutritious food suggested in the book.

_DSC4322

Preparing Paleo meals took a lot of practice at first. In the beginning, I had to remind myself to avoid any packaged, processed food. Our ancestors thrived and survived on the following foods:

paleo-pyramid

And, so, I find myself again beginning the Paleo lifestyle after a long hiatus. Removing toxic foods like sugar, HFCS, wheat and refined carbs is a tumultuous process and one that is not without withdrawal symptoms similar to coming off of drugs.

There are headaches and mood swings and cravings. But in the end, the payoff is worth it.

For additional reading about The Paleo Payoff,  check out a recent article in Better Nutrition Magazine. 

As for me, I begin my journey to lose 25 pounds of fat and training for a 5k today. Because I have learned never to put off until tomorrow what you can do today.

I believe our Creator, whoever that may be, gave us the necessary nutrients in the food that naturally grows outdoors. Because Real Food Doesn’t Need a Label.

health-quote32

5 thoughts on “Getting back on the Paleo Wagon

Leave a Reply

