Spicy Tuna Cake Recipe with Ghee

tumblr_inline_n8gq1qlWWa1qdei8m

This delightful recipe is brought to you by Nom Nom Paleo.

This evening I made my first batch of ghee. The trickiest part was figuring out what to use instead of a cheesecloth since I didn’t have one on hand. We tried using a coffee filter but that did not work out and we ended up spilling some of the ghee. Instead I found a blue disposable cloth used in restaurants and that did the trick!

Now that I know how simple it is to make ghee, I’m going to try making these spicy tuna cakes. I believe I can also modify a recipe I have for crab cakes using the same ingredients and methods called for in this recipe. I have some pastured eggs and ghee handy so I believe this will be a fun recipe to try tomorrow.

tumblr_inline_n8gqjoV1aQ1qdei8m

Here’s what to gather to make 12 cakes:

  • 3 tablespoons melted ghee, divided
  • 10 ounces canned albacore tuna packed in water, drained
  • 3 scallions, thinly sliced (about ⅓ cup)
  • 2 tablespoons finely minced fresh cilantro
  • 1⅓ cup mashed baked sweet potato
  • finely grated zest from ½ medium lemon
  • 1 tablespoon minced jalapeño pepper
  • 2 large eggs
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 medium lemons, cut into wedges (optional)

For directions, go to Nom Nom Paleo’s website!

Photo credit: Nom Nom Paleo

Leave a Reply

